How to permanently delete your Facebook account
October 15, 2019
COMMENTS

Get a social media detox.

Social media has now become a staple part of everyone’s lives. There is now a constant need to check what’s going on with other people’s lives by seeing their status messages or the images they post. It can be draining that’s for sure, which is why some users decide to stay off social media in a bid to be more mentally and emotionally healthy.

Deleting a Facebook account is easy, but it does come with some precautions like:

You will no longer be able to reactivate an account. If you decide to use Facebook again you would need to create a new account.

You will lose access to Facebook Messenger since the first requirement for that app is a Facebook account

If you use the ‘Sign-in with Facebook’ options on some apps and websites, you will lose access to these logins and you would need to contact the respective websites to recover your account.

Deleting your account doesn’t mean all traces of it will be gone. Previous replies, comments or messages that you have sent may still be visible.

If you’ve finally decided to permanently close your Facebook account, you can follow these steps:


It’s best to do this on a desktop or tablet browser – log on to your Facebook account and press the down button on the upper right-hand corner. On the drop-down menu, head on to ‘Settings‘.

On the left side menu, click ‘Your Facebook Information

From there select ‘Deactivation and Deletion‘.

You will then be presented with two options: Deactivate Account or Permanently Delete Account.

Deactivate Account is more of a temporary deletion and you can reactivate anytime. But if you’re adamant about deleting your Facebook profile, select Permanently Delete Account instead.

You will then be presented with a final list of everything that you will lose once you delete your Facebook account. It will also give you an option to download your data before you delete it.

Once you confirm you will be asked to enter your password as a final step.

And you’re done! It will take 30 days to permanently delete your Facebook account and those 30 days will also act as a grace period where you can still recover your account just in case you change your mind.

Have you tried the steps above? Tell us about your experience in the comments below!

by Victor Philip Ortiz
Tech Enthusiast and Movie Buff. Passionate for all things tech - you’ll normally find him tinkering with the latest gadgets and computer peripherals. He is an avid collector of Blu-ray discs and occasionally plays on his Xbox.
Read More