How to use Guided Access on iPhone for extra privacy

July 19, 2020

Prevent anyone from snooping into your phone.

Have you ever been in a situation where you want to show someone your app but they end up browsing through your entire device? Or even letting your kids borrow your smartphone to watch on YouTube but they end up sending random messages to your contact list? If you’re using an iPhone, we may have the solution for you.

Guided Access is an accessibility setting that limits the use of your smartphone to the only screen that’s open. For example, if you want to show someone Instagram, they will only be able to view that app, and swiping home or going to another app would require you to enter the passcode. It’s the ultimate privacy tool for that to keeps things, well, private.

Here is what you need to do (this tutorial was done on an iPhone 11 Pro Max running iOS 13.6, other models may vary but they’re all much the same):

On your iPhone, open Settings.

From there, look for Accessibility and then scroll down and look for Guided Access.

Turn Guided Access on.

Along with that, add a password through the Password Settings menu.

Turn on Accessibility Shortcut and turn on Guided Access by pressing on the side button three times.

If an app is open, that means that the only app that can be used while the iPhone is in Guided Access.

Pressing the side button three times again will turn off Guided Access after you’ve entered your password.

Have another how-to tutorial that you want to share? Let us know in the comments!

by Victor Philip Ortiz
Tech Enthusiast and Movie Buff. When he’s not busy playing with the latest games, Victor usually spends his time collecting Blu-rays and building his own movie library. As the Online Editor for T3 Middle East, he develops and writes content for www.T3ME.com which includes reviews, features, and videos in addition to managing its social media and web content.