Privacy win: Google will now let you auto-delete your Location History
May 2, 2019
COMMENTS

This also includes your Web and App Activity.

As a way to deliver more relevant services, Google usually needs access to your location and history. An option called Web & App Activity and Location History is where you’ll get to see an overview of the things that you have searched or the places you’ve visited. You can always opt out of from this type of tracking, but just in case you’re using the feature and would regularly delete your history, Google is introducing a new and easier option.

This new option will let you set how long Google will keep the data on your phone (it isn’t saved on their servers) from 3 months up to 18 months. Google says that the deletion will be an ongoing process and will be happening in the background without the need for you to constantly check it regularly.

Of course, if you’re concerned about privacy you can always turn all these things off. But for Google apps like Maps and Search to function properly and give you the right recommendations, these options may have to be turned on.

The new option should be rolling out to all accounts in the next few weeks, where you can easily access the option on your smartphone or on the web. This is another step from Google in ensuring the public who are concerned about privacy.

by Victor Philip Ortiz
Tech Enthusiast and Movie Buff. Has passion for all things tech - you’ll normally find him tinkering with the latest gadgets and computer peripherals. He is an avid collector of Blu-ray discs and occasionally plays campaigns on his Xbox.
Read More